MSS Kawasaki Motorcycle

Bishopscourt next for Adelaide Masters Series

MSS Kawasaki Motorcycle

Northern Ireland bikers can look forward to plenty of racing action at Bishopscourt this week-end!

Having opened the season with two events at Mondello Park Ireland’s biggest Motorcycle Racing Championship, the Adelaide Masters Series, next heads for Bishopscourt this Saturday for its annual appearance at the superfast Co. Down track a favourite of Northern Ireland motorbike enthusiats!

The series, which is backed by Motorcycle insurance specialists Adelaide Insurance Services, will make its third annual trip to the former airfield track for rounds seven and eight of the 2014 championship, which will be contested by a field of more than 170 riders in eight different classes.

The biggest classes on the bill will be Superbike and Supersport, with thirty nine and forty four entries respectively. The Superbike entry list will be headed by the championship top four, Cody Nally, Brian McCormack, David Haire and Gerard Kinghan, along with other possible race winners such as Damien Byrne, the returning Marshall Neill and Alan Bonner.

The Supersport division is currently led by Carl Phillips and he will start as one of the favourites in this most competitive of classes. Opposition could come from anywhere on the grid with the likes of David Haire, Robert Kennedy, Luke Johnston, Jamie and Ross Patterson and regular British Championship racer Nikki Coates all likely race winners along with the fast improving Conor Parkhill and Kevin Keyes.

Superbike and Supersport both contain a ‘Cup’ class for less experienced racers and in Superbike it is Raymond Casey, Emmet Bannon, Declan Hoey and Thomas O’Grady who have dominated the results. All four will be on the Grid for Saturdays races. The Supersport Cup has been dominated by Kevin Keys who has taken five wins from six races. His main rivals will be Donal Curtin, the only other rider to take a win this season, and Ross Patterson who will be looking for his first win on home ground.

The remainder of the thirteen race programme will be made up of combined grids of Pre-Injection and 250GP, Supertwin & Production Twins, Lightweight Supersport and Moto3, and the culmination of the days action, the Adelaide Masters Grand Final for the Norman Brown trophy. In the final, the fastest riders from the event will come together to compete for the biggest prize fund of the day and to add their names to the roll of honour on the Norman Brown trophy, previously won by such stars as Joey Dunlop, Woolsey Coulter, Mark Farmer and Alan Irwin.

Qualifying gets under way from 09:00 with three races, including the first Superbike and Supersport races, scheduled before lunch. The remaining races are scheduled from 14:00 finishing with the 10 lap Grand Final. For further information on the Adelaide Masters Series see

If you need to get your bike on the road this week-end and require motorbike insurance, try the motorbike insurance specialists – Adelaide Insurance Services, or call us on 028 9044 2200.