Adelaide Motorbike Awards, vote for your Adelaide Irish Motorcyclist of the Year.

Voting is open for Irish Motorcyclist of the year

Voting commences for the Adelaide Irish Motorcyclist of the Year, vote here:

Voting commences for the Adelaide Irish Motorcyclist of the Year, vote here:


Voting opens today for the Adelaide Irish Motorcyclist of the Year, and the winner will be presented with the unique Joey Dunlop Trophy at the Adelaide Motorbike Awards in the Ramada Plaza Hotel, Belfast on Friday 23rd January.

22 competitors from various disciplines of the sport have been nominated for the prestigious award in association with the Enkalon club. The winner will be decided by a special online public vote which can be accessed at a new website

Amongst the favourites this year will be Michael Dunlop for his sensational season on the roads when he became the first ever rider to win four Isle of Man TT races in successive years and giving BMW their first Superbike TT victory in 75 years. Jonathan Rea, who will fly in from pre-season testing in Spain for the event, also had a memorable year clinching third position in the World Superbike Championship, while Alastair Seeley was runner-up in the British Supersport Championship and also scored a double on the Thursday evening of the North West 200.

Among the other contenders are Glenn Irwin, who finished fourth in the Supersport championship and also scored four wins with two lap records at the end of season Sunflower Trophy meeting, Eugene Laverty for a sensational victory in the opening World Superbike race of the season, Andy Reid who took the British 600cc Superstock championship to the final round only to finish second in the title chase, while Adelaide Masters Superbike and Supersport champions Cody Nally and Carl Phillips will be sure to pick up votes.

Off road is represented with British Championship MX1 championship fourth place finisher Graeme Irwin, Ulster Motocross champion Richard Bird, Irish champion Stuart Edmonds, Mark McClernon the British U-21 Quad champion, Natalie Kane who had another outstanding Womens World MX championship and Michael Burton, who recently clinched his eighth Irish Trials championship in nine years, all in the mix.

Other riders chasing your vote are Michael Laverty, William Dunlop, Jamie Hamilton, Lee Johnston, Jack Kennedy, Derek McGee, Richard McNeill and Marty Nutt all of who had successful season either on the home front or beyond.

The public vote can be accessed via any computer, ipad, iphone, android or mobile device, and will be overseen an expert panel of judges chaired by former British Champion Adrian Coates who expects a close race for the title.

“Last year we had a massive response topped by Eugene Laverty and this year we are hoping for even bigger. Our brand new website means voting is very easy, and we expect a big surge through social media once again. I would urge all bike fans to log on and register their vote for their favourite rider – it’s going to be a close call and every click will be important!”

A dozen other awards will also be presented including road racer of the year, team of the year, hall of fame and race of year at what is an evening not to be missed.

Anyone wishing to purchase tickets for the Awards can email, or phone 07584058810. There’s also a special video promotion on the TV section on the Cornmarket website

The full list of nominees is:

Richard Bird

Michael Burton

Michael Dunlop

William Dunlop

Stuart Edmonds

Jamie Hamilton

Glenn Irwin

Graeme Irwin

Lee Johnston

Natalie Kane

Jack Kennedy

Eugene Laverty

Michael Laverty 

Derek McGee

Mark McLernon

Richard McNeill

Cody Nally

Marty Nutt

Carl Phillips

Jonathan Rea

Andy Reid

Alastair Seeley